Massachusetts Adoption Resource Exchange
 

TiaraSarah
Registration # 4375
D.O.B. 10/04

HI! My name is Sarah.
I love to ride my bike!
I like knowing what to expect.

Sarah is a curious eleven year old girl of Caucasian descent who is on the Autism spectrum. She enjoys physical activities such as riding her bike, swinging and bouncing on a sensory ball, listening to music and swimming. She likes hands-on-activities, and communicates what she wants. Sarah can be highly distracted and benefits from multiple sensory breaks throughout her day in order to assist with self-regulation. After completing a break, Sarah is able to remain engaged in an activity.

Sarah can dress herself and put on her shoes, however, she experiences difficulty manipulating snaps and buttons, and bathing on her own. She is toilet-trained, but will have occasional accidents. Sarah is able to use the bathroom independently, however, she does need supervision.
In regards to sensory processing, Sarah seeks out movement and heavy work activities. She is bothered by loud noises and will cover her ears when the environment is noisy. She enjoys tactile play. She is able to attend to stories and navigates various through her 'iPad'. She is highly reinforced by tangible items.

Sarah is legally freed for adoption and due to her impulsivity, a two parent home would be ideal. Sarah benefits greatly from a highly structured and predictable daily routine, as well as close supervision due to her impulsivity and lack of safety awareness.

You can help bring me closer to finding "a place to call HOME" by filling out the MARE Information Request Form. They will be glad to help you get more information about me.

 

MARE is partially funded by the Massachusetts Department of Children and Families.
Comments or Questions to: web@mareinc.org - Copyright © 2010 MARE, Inc. All rights reserved.